Mount Vernon Municipal Court

Telephone: (740) 393-9510 Fax: (740) 393-5349
5 North Gay Street
3rd Floor
Mount Vernon, OH 43050-3241

Criminal/Traffic

Criminal Forms:

The following PDF forms can be filled out electronically and then printed or they may be printed first and filled by hand.

Not Guilty Plea Form

Motion for Continuance

-Motion for Temporary Protection Order

Appeal of Dog Status Designation

Application for Driving Rights

-Sealing of Record – Conviction

-Sealing of Record – Non-conviction

-Sealing of Record – Process Information Sheet

 

Payment may be made in person Monday – Friday from 8 am to 4 pm with cash, check, money order or credit card.  You can also mail your ticket (signed on the back) with a check or money order payable to the Mount Vernon Municipal Court, 5 North Gay Street, Mount Vernon, Ohio, 43050.

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING:

1. Payment is due by the arraignment date and time listed on your ticket.  If you require a continuance this must be done before the scheduled date and time.  If you fail to pay or appear additional fees will be added.

2. Under Ohio law if you do not appear or pay this ticket, your driver’s license will be suspended and a warrant may be issued.

3. If you did not show proof of insurance to the officer you must mail or bring proof of insurance to the court.

4. If you would like a receipt returned to you send a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your payment.

License information can be found at BMV.OHIO.GOV

To learn more about our monthly pay-plans, click here

OUT OF STATE DRIVERS:

If you do not appear or pay this ticket a non-resident violator compact will be issued and your State will suspend your license.


TRAFFIC WAIVER SCHEDULE

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 4, 2016

Speeding

1st offense within one year

  • 1-15 miles over – $140.00
  • 16-20 miles over – $150.00
  • 21-30 miles over – $160.00
  • 31 miles or more over – REQUIRED APPEARANCE

2nd offense within one year – add $25.00

Speeding in a school zone – REQUIRED APPEARANCE

 

Seatbelt charge (No other violation charged)

Seatbelt Driver – $111.00

Seatbelt Passenger – $101.00

No Child Restraint – $116.00

 

Seatbelt charge with another violaton

Driver – $30.00

Passenger – $25.00

 

All other minor misdemeanor traffic violations – $140.00

 

Other Traffic Offenses

All charges of driving without ever having a license – $240.00

1st or 2nd offense within past 3 years for the following – $320.00

  • Permit an unlicensed driver to drive
  • Driving under child support suspension
  • Driving under license forfeiture suspension
  • Driving under FRA suspension

1st, 2nd or 3rd offense within the past 3 years for operating with an expired license – $240.00

 

All waiver amounts include court costs

$110 costs on moving violations

$100 costs on non-moving violations


CRIMINAL WAIVER SCHEDULE

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 4, 2016

Disorderly Conduct (MM) – $205.00

Open Container – $155.00

Dog at Large (1st offense) – $155.00

Fail to License Dog – $155.00

Failure to Display Dog Tag – $205.00

Other criminal minor misdemeanors – $205.00

 

All criminal waiver amounts include court costs


 

CRIMINAL & TRAFFIC DIVISION COST SCHEDULE

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 4, 2016

Basic Costs:

Local Costs – $58.00

Computer Fee – Clerk – $10.00

Computer Fee – Court – $3.00

Special Projects – $5.00

Total local costs for criminal and traffic cases – $76.00

 

When bond is posted or when the defendant is convicted, the Clerk will collect:

$39.00 additional cost for any case involving a moving traffic offense ($9 to the State victims reparation fund (R.C. 2743.70(A)(1)(b)); $20 to the State indigent defense support fund (R.C. 2949.091 (A)(1)(a)(ii)); $10 to various State and municipal funds (R.C. 2949.094(A))

$29.00 additional cost for any cases involving a non-traffic misdemeanor ($9 to the State victims reparation fund (R.C. 2743.70(A)(1)(b)); $20 to the State indigent defense support fund (R.C. 2949.091 (A)(1)(a)(ii))

$10.00 additional cost for any case involving a non-moving traffic offense ($10 to the State indigent defense support fund (R.C. 2949.091 (A)(1)(a)(ii))

 

Other Costs:

Appeals – $125.00

Bail Forfeiture – $25.00

Bail Surcharge – (must be paid to the Clerk whenever bail is posted for any offense other than a non-moving traffic offense – R.C. 2937.22(B)) – $25.00

Bind-Over Fee (charged when court holds a preliminary hearing in a felony case and finds probable cause) – $25.00

Checks returned for insufficient funds, are drawn on closed accounts or for stop payment – $25.00

Commitment – $10.00

Community Control

  • Supervision Fee I – as determined by community control – $150.00
  • Supervision Fee II – as determined by community control – $175.00
  • Supervision Fee III – as determined by community control – $200.00
  • Violation – $50.00
  • Early termination request (less than 3 years of supervision completed) – $100.00
  • Early termination request (greater than 3 years of supervision completed) – $50.00

Contempt – notice of – $25.00

Continuances

  • Arraignment – $10.00
  • Other scheduled events – (excluding motions filed by the prosecutor) – $20.00

Copies

  • Certified copies – plus the per-page cost of copies – $3.00
  • Regular copies – per page – $0.05
  • Printout of court docket – per page – $0.25
  • Transcripts – original per page – $4.50
  • Transcripts – copy per page – $0.50
  • Video and audio recording of court proceeding – $5.00

Demand for a trial – (jury or court) – $10.00

Diversion Program – plus local court costs – $200.00

Driving Privileges

  • During an Administrative License Suspension or court ordered suspension – $50.00
  • Bureau of Motor Vehicle suspension driving rights application – $100.00
  • Reinstatement fee payment plan extension – $50.00
  • Request in change to driving privileges – $30.00

Expungement

  • Sealing conviction or bond forfeiture – $100.00
  • Sealing finding of not guilty or dismissal – $50.00

Failure to appear – $10.00

Immobilization fee – $15.00

In/Out Jail Fee – $5.00

Jury

  • Jury Notices – $25.00
  • Calling of Jury – $25.00
  • Jury Fees – (Per diem, per day) – $20.00

License Forfeiture – $25.00

Motion hearing – written – $10.00

Plea in Abstentia – $100.00

Post-judgment motions – $10.00

Public defender application fee (R.C. 120.36) – $25.00

Registration Block – $25.00

Registration Block Release – $15.00

Release of Forfeiture – $15.00

Service

  • Certified Mail – $20.00
  • Express Mail – (at current U.S. Postal Service rate)
  • Ordinary Mail – $5.00
    Personal Service – (plus mileage at the current mileage rate) – $20.00
  • Service by publication – (plus actual cost of publication) – $12.00

Subpoena – (each name plus mileage or service costs) – $10.00

Warrant

  • Ordered – notice of – $25.00
  • Issuance – plus service fee – $25.00

Warrant block – $25.00

Warrant block release -$15.00

Warrant to discharge – $5.00

Witness Fees

  • Witness mileage at $0.505 per mile and witness fees for:
    • One-half day or less – $6.00
    • Full day – $12.00